Why do I write?

Ankit Yadav
the freestyle works
3 min readMay 27, 2018

Words are a lens to focus one’s mind.
– Ayn Rand

So, back at it with another one! Just a Disclaimer though — There is a high possibility that you may not find anything of value in this article, unlike my previous ones.

Even though I do not do it professionally, writing is one of those things that help me put my ideas about freestyle football on an open platform. Many people do it with the help of their own freestyle, some do it via a graphic image or a video. I do it by penning down my thoughts in these articles.

Now the question arises — Why? Why is there a need for some literature on freestyle football? Why do people need to put ideas down in some piece of article when freestyle is all about going out there and expressing yourself physically with a ball?

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

So the number one reason for me to write all these awkward articles about freestyle football is there is a lack of proper literature about freestyle football. When you stop and think about it, there is always some literature required for any field in life.

Literature is one of the best medium to make sure that knowledge flows between generations. It is an ancient and extensively used medium to impart knowledge about any field down to their predecessors.

There are a few trick books available out there, some amazing e-books exploring the world of freestyle football through the writer’s perspective and also a couple dozen freestyle football interviews. But these are not enough. And honestly, I don’t find many of them insightful too.

Most of you might know this, but the social culture of freestyle football started with the help of a forum ‘Beyond Football’ wherein freestylers from all around the world would come and discuss their ideas around freestyle football. That was the first ever social media platform for the global freestyle football community.

So yes, a lot of literature was being discussed and written down in the early years. But with the onset of social media, everything went to video and live streams. Words were being spoken and discussed, just not written down.

So me pointing out lack of literature does not mean the lack of ideas or discussion, just that there is no record of these ideas, to be passed down to the current or next generation.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

However, there are a couple of people like me who are contributing more or less to the literary side of freestyle football. And I am merely a member of that small part of that society. Just that I, like the rest of them, have a different thought process and technique to pen down my ideas.

So yes, not stretching this article too much, I would like to arrive at the conclusion that my writing comes out of the need for some literature in the freestyle football world. Also I like to write. I am not good at it, I just pretend to be.

Your thoughts on this? Let’s talk down below.

Freestyle Works is an independent freestyle football publication right now and I run it to spread new and unique ideas about freestyle football.

Give a clap if you liked what you read. Talk to me down in the comments section if you have any suggestions or a demand for me.

Also I will be posting weekly articles from now on. So follow this publication to get notifications whenever a new piece comes out.

That’s all folks!

--

--

Ankit Yadav
the freestyle works

A student, freestyle footballer, learner. Co-founder of Freestyle Works. Living in India