Comply or Else

In response to Justin Deming’s fascinating prompt for June 12th.

Kim Smyth
The Friday Fix
1 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Gift Habeshaw for Unsplash

Hali was a courtesan in training, she was told to listen to the house mother’s instruction. When she was told what her duties would be, however, Hali just laughed and laughed.

“No way,” she giggled. I will never bow down to man like that.

The slap came out of nowhere.

I’m loving these interactive prompts, if you’d like to see more of my work, check out these stories.

Forgive me for stepping away from the political landscape on this one this week. I just need a break from it all, hopefully, I’m not alone in my desire to escape for a bit.

--

--

Kim Smyth
The Friday Fix

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.