5 Things Every Good Soldier Does

Useful advice for those who want to be the best soldiers they can be.

Jordan Mendiola
The Front Lines

--

Photo by Maxim Potkin on Unsplash

Serving in the military is one of the most intense jobs on the market.

Being a soldier demands so much of you — loyalty, respect, and accountability to succeed.

In my four years of serving in the United States Army and doing one tour in the middle east, I’ve learned the do and don'ts of being a soldier in the U.S. Army.

I’ve seen a lot of great habits and behaviors, as well as a lot of things I don’t ever plan on replicating.

If you’ve wanted to know what it’s like and what it takes to be a good soldier, this article is perfect for you.

1. Be On Time

Being a soldier requires timeliness and being punctual.

If you’re in a time of war, then hit times and accountability times are critical.

I can account for all of the times that I’ve been late or cut it close. News flash, it’s not a good time. Sometimes, you’ll be forced to get “smoked” or disciplined through physical fitness or be forced to stay later than the group.

One thing my drill sergeant in boot camp said was, “If you’re five minutes early, then you’re ten minutes late.” He implied…

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
The Front Lines

I started writing during the pandemic, took a short break. But have returned for more. Quality over quantity this second time around. Thanks for being here!