5 Parenting Tips From A Professional Footballer

Former England women’s captain Casey Stoney reveals how she leads by example at home like she does on the pitch to keep her family match fit

UPBEAT ACTIVE
The #fuel657 Journal
5 min readDec 5, 2016

--

Photograph: Amy Maidment/CaseyStoney’s Instagram

It’s hard enough being a mother without having to worry how it’ll affect your career. And when that career requires you — and your partner — to be in peak physical condition to play professional football for your club and country, that predicament can be even more keenly felt.

In 2014, at the time of the birth of her twins Teddy and Tilly, Casey Stoney played for top Women’s Super League team Arsenal Ladies while her partner Megan Harris played for Lincoln Ladies (now named Notts County).

Further reading: Let’s Drink To Your Muscle Health

Without family nearby or an eye-watering salary to dip into like footballers enjoy in the men’s game, they decided Harris would stop playing and focus on looking after the kids while Stoney would keep training, playing and touring with the national team to put food on the table.

At first, Stoney admits when speaking exclusively to The #fuel657 Journal, she didn’t know how they’d cope or if her career would survive the strain. “When they’re born you have no idea how you’re going to cope,” says Stoney. “No one tells you how to be a parent. I was anxious about how it might impact on my football, the lack of sleep and rest.”

No one tells you how to be a parent.

Despite those early concerns, her career blossomed. The 34-year-old helped steer England to an unprecedented third place at the 2015 World Cup in Canada — beating Germany in the process — before capping the 2016 season off with victory for Arsenal at Wembley Stadium in the FA Cup final. “I’ve had two of the best seasons of my career since the twins were born,” says the 129 cap-winning defender. “Now I have three more reasons to do well.”

Further reading: 657 Reasons Your Muscles Are Amazing

On her twins’ second birthdays and having recently signed a new two and a half year contract with “a top flight Women’s Super League team”, Stoney reveals the steps she’s taken at home to ensure her health, fitness, career and family life continues to flourish.

Photo: The FA

1. Make smart food choices

My life has changed dramatically. You literally don’t sit down for more than five minutes. When I trained in the past I used to come home to relax and recover. That doesn’t happen anymore. Now, what I put into my body as fuel becomes even more important because that’s how I make sure I recover. One simple solution I’ve found is with Upbeat Active. It’s a high source of protein and for me it tastes a lot better than other protein sources I’ve taken. Your body needs it [protein] too. No matter what you do.

Further reading: Whey: What Is It Good For?

2. Let good habits come naturally

We make mealtimes social and try to eat together as much as possible. I’ll eat loads of veg to encourage them. We don’t have fizzy drinks in the house. The kids only really drink water because I only really drink water. It’s whatever I do they do. You don’t have to force good habits on your kids. If you live that way everyday and they see it, it’s just role-modelling that behaviour then hopefully they’ll follow suit.

3. Find an hour of me-time everyday

Don’t neglect your own needs completely. You have to find time to make time for you. For me exercise has been my life but I know if I’m starting to feel low or fatigued it’s normally because I haven’t exercised. Once I’ve been to the gym I come back revitalised and can give the kids the best version of me. It’s about getting that hour every day to get a bit of me time.

Once I’ve been to the gym I come back revitalised and can give the kids the best version of me.

4. Resist leftover temptations

I’m probably more toned and athletic now because I don’t get time to pick at food. You’re never bored so you don’t raid the fridge when you’re with the kids. However you have to be very wary you don’t eat everything they leave on their plates. That can become a dangerous habit.

5. Make being active a way of life

I want to encourage them to live a healthy, active lifestyle. We’re always out playing and making fun games for them. They’re so active. I want my kids to learn through playing. And we don’t indulge them with junk food. They don’t really need to know what chocolate and crisps and chips and burgers are yet. They’re only two years old. They’ve got plenty of years to find that out.

Remember, Every Muscle Matters. Join our community and tag your posts with #fuel657

--

--

UPBEAT ACTIVE
The #fuel657 Journal

Upbeat Active is all day body fuel, giving active bodies the high quality protein they need at any time of day. Healthy muscles. Healthy life.