Cloning Medium: “Open Source” & “Functional”

Jigar Gosar
The Functional Programmer
1 min readJul 30, 2016

What do you think? How ambitious is this project?

Of course I am not talking about cloning the user base, which is where 99% of the value lies.

So, how long should it take for “1” decent developer to clone all the “Core Functionalities?

6 months? 1 month? couple of weeks?

What are the core functionalities of the platform?

(Let’s ignore publications for now)

  • User profile.
  • Story Editor.
  • Story Tags.
  • Follow and connect with people on twitter and facebook.
  • Post stories to twitter and facebook.
  • Highlights, with private comments.
  • Email updates. Notifications.
  • Comment threads (This is by far my most favourite feature).

What else am I missing? besides a sustainable will to see the project through.

Do share your thoughts, and estimates (blind or otherwise).

Note: My first “Functional Project” is almost ready. It’s purpose was laid out here: Why Functional Programming.

I am going to name it: TFP-2048. Any one eager to see the code? Although I am shit scared. I didn’t even push on github. I should probably get it reviewd before making it public. Or perhaps not. Regardless, I will not delete git history, so that everyone can see how hypocrite and imperfect I am. “”

--

--