Been bad but otherwise all good with the meal replacements

Chris Healey
The Future of Food Security North of 60
2 min readMar 11, 2018

Got the other order to supplement my daily chocolate Hol shake — Biolent. It tastes like vanilla.

Since I really don’t know what I am doing I ordered the vegan keto variety. This is intriguing to me but the Hol has dairy and gluten in it so I think I’m at cross purposes here.

Though both promise the nutrients one needs, and I am mainly eating just protein for breakfast, I am vaguely worried about getting scurvy, or at least sick with such a lack of vegetables and fruits. But if I am serious about tech as a solution for the northern food security, then this is part of that research I guess. This should be enough. And it reflects the absence of fruits and vegetables that can occur in isolated communities.

I do feel more hungry quicker after Biolent Keto. But this makes sense since it is reduced in carbs and protein.

I have strayed with three peanut butter sandwiches this week and some breaded chicken wings. Next week is for reals.

One new aspect I stumbled upon while researching the Keto diet is fasting, so I did that for the first time in my life. 36 hours! It went well and the bacon I had for breakfast afterwards was the best thing I’ve ever tasted. It occured to me that fasting could be considered as part of the approach to northern food sovereignty. Though maybe calorie wise this does not make sense for deep winter up here, if brief fasts were practiced as a health regime by the population that would probably ease the supply demand noticeably.

This project is to explore other approaches for food security for the north. Fasting seems a bit absurd, I know, but the idea of planning reduced calorie intakes is one low-tech approach that may have a positive, healthy place in an overall sustainable strategy.

--

--