Clinique 3 Step Anti-Blemish Solutions Review

Journalism & Media Society
Journos Media
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2019

By Amy Blaney

In the past, I suffered with acne and tried numerous skincare products that promised to alleviate the problems associated with acne prone skin. One of these lines was the Clinique 3 Step Anti Blemish Solutions. The set comes with 3 products to cleanse, exfoliate and moisturize and I tried it for approximately 8 weeks.

The first step is the Anti-Blemish Solutions Cleansing Foam. This product promises to unclog pores and remove excess dirt and oil. This was probably my favourite product from the set. My skin felt clean and tight after cleansing, and I felt like it reduced oil production.

Due to the Salicylic acid in this cleanser, my skin soon felt dry after repeated use, and I would recommend using a good moisturizer with this product. The salicylic acid helps to clear dead skin cells that can contribute to clogged pores.

A point to note here is that this is not a cleanser that will remove make-up. It is purely to remove excess dirt and oil and help keep pores clear. I would recommend using this product as a follow up to a makeup removing cleanser such as Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm.

The second step is the Anti-Blemish Solutions Clarifying Lotion which is basically a micro exfoliant. This is a chemical exfoliant, meaning the chemicals will clear away the dead skin cells instead of using an abrasive scrub exfoliator that can be harsh on broken skin.

However, my flaw with this product was that it’s extremely drying. I recommend applying with a cotton pad over the face, I only applied it to the areas where my acne was bad because it was so drying. After a week of use my skin was dry and flaky and my skin was irritated from the strong chemicals. I tried it again a few weeks later and with no improvements, I eventually shelved it for good.

The product must be shaken before use as there is a white powder at the bottom that mixes through when shaken.

Step 3 is the Acne Solutions All Over Clearing Treatment. If you have oily/acne prone skin and shy away from adding more moisture to your skin, this might be a good product to try as it absorbs immediately. This is a very lightweight moisturizer that calms, soothes and reduces redness. It also works to control excess oil production.

This is a nice day cream for those with oily skin. However, although this is the moisturizer that comes in the set, I personally felt that it was not moisturizing enough to use with the Clarifying lotion (step 2).

When it comes to Clinique moisturizers, I would personally recommend Clinique Moisture Surge 72-Hour Auto-Replenishing Hydrator. I bought this product a while back in duty free in the airport, and I have re-bought it ever since. I originally bought this product to hydrate my damaged skin that had been weakened by acne medication and I would recommend it for sensitive skin.

--

--