We’ll Miss You, Jeff Kaplan

Alexandria Ducksworth
The Gamer Room
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2021

--

“We are Overwatch” (Credit: Play Overwatch via YouTube)

As soon as I heard Jeff Kaplan (aka Papa Jeff) was leaving Blizzard, I thought it was a joke…until it wasn’t.

Wasn’t 2021 supposed to be the year of great beginnings?

Okay, wow. There’s even an official statement from Jeff on the Play Overwatch blog:

i am leaving Blizzard Entertainment after 19 amazing years.

it was truly the honor of a lifetime to have the opportunity to create worlds and heroes for such a passionate audience. i want to express my deep appreciation to everyone at blizzard who supported our games, our game teams and our plays, but I want to say a special thanks to the wonderful game developers that shared in the journey of creation with me.

never accept the world as it appears to be. always dare to see it for what it could be. I hope you do the same.

gg,

jeffrey kaplan

Well, it’s a fact now.

What a Minute, Who is Jeff Kaplan?

--

--