My gaming life with GPUs

Ollie Francis
The games that made me
7 min readFeb 12, 2024
A giant swirling galaxy of GPU tech with video game characters
Image created by the author with Midjourney and Photoshop

I’ve owned 12 discrete graphics cards from 1999 to 2024. In those 25 years games have come a long way. So have I, growing from deluded young human to midlife crisis.

These devices and the many games they helped me play, have been a solace, especially when life got complicated. From Half Life to death. Marriage to Control. Inspired by all the stories I read in reply to a recent Reddit post I created, this is my life with GPUs.

GPU Nvidia GeForce 256 DDR
Year 1999
Key game Half Life

‘The World’s First GPU’ — I was buying a PC for web development, there was an option for a graphics card. What is this new devilry? I’d heard of 3Dfx but not witnessed it’s results, so I selected the Geforce 256 SDR, with no real idea what it was. The DDR version turned up instead. I got a copy of Half Life from a friend. The following weeks I had my 20 year old mind blown; playing late into the night at my office, I would drive home freaked out and amazed that a game could do that to me.

GPU Nvidia GeForce 2 MX400
Year 2000
Key game Unreal Tournament

After the 256 DDR this was a big disappointment. Looking back now, I realised that this is the point Nvidia had caught me in their trap. I was starting to master Flash animation and the web for my job. Unreal Tournament was hilarious and brutal, I had two PCs in my office, me and a colleague would play a death match pretty much every lunchtime for a few months.

GPU Nvidia GeForce 3 Ti200
Year 2002
Key game Half Life 2

By this time I wasn’t playing many PC games, I had a GameCube and a modded Xbox. I was 23, left home, distracted by drinking, clubs and erm, other fun things. Then Half Life 2 appeared. I realised I would need a new PC, thankfully my friend in my house had one. We went halves on the Geforce 3, then shat ourselves going to Ravenholm. I remember having to turn the PC off at the wall to stop the screaming zombies.

GPU ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Year 2004
Key game World of Warcraft

A strange time. I was earning much more money, so I decided to build a custom, tiny PC. The aim was for it to be silent. I didn’t realise what a thermal war I would have on my hands. The 9600 Pro model I had was hot and noisy, it was also pretty unstable. I played a lot of WoW with it, then sold it to a friend. I hung up my PC gaming gloves for a long time after this experience.

GPU AMD Radeon HD 7970
Year 2014
Key game Farcry 3

Fast forward 10 years… I’m married without children and I’m playing Farcry 3 on my PS3. An amazing game, but the console was struggling. I just kept thinking ‘I bet this is amazing on PC’. I been waiting for the PS4, it was long overdue. So I thought, screw it, I’ll build a PS4!! That Christmas I bought a pre-made from Scan, it turned up with a 7950 in it (karma for the SDR/DDR swap maybe). Once that little issue was resolved, I played Far Cry 3 in glorious 1080p/60fps on my TV. The 7970 was also pretty unstable, I started to think about Team green…

GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Year 2015
Key game Shadow of Mordor

I started to hear about Steam Machines. I was very into the idea of PCs becoming a console replacement in the living room. I modified my last build to be smaller, got my first AIO and slashed out on a 780 Ti. My word, it was everything I dreamed it could be. Then I got carried away… I bought a ROG Swift monitor, one of the first with GSYNC. I played so many hours of Shadow of Mordor on that set up. The graphics were insane. But, like a drug, I had to have more.

GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti
Year 2015
Key game Ultimate Street Fighter 4

As a side project, back in 2012 I designed a custom arcade unit that could hang on a wall and use home made SSD ‘cartridges’. In 2015 a carpenter friend built it with me. The 750 Ti was paired with an i3 4330, enough to run USF4 at high frame rate. This was a PC built for a purpose. It was quiet and tiny. It lived at my office for a while and the machine still lives on.

GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX Titan X
Year 2015
Key game Bioshock Infinite

Back to my GPU drug problem… due to a cooler issue I was able to return the 780 Ti and I upgraded it to a Titan X. It turned up at my office, on the day we had a CS GO LAN party. Everyone thought I’d gone mad. Maybe I had. It was overkill for everything I played on it. I had this crazed alter ego that just craved frames. I’m not sure I was really enjoying games. In hindsight, inside I was very unhappy. Bioshock Infinite’s broken world felt a lot like the inside of my head.

GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Year 2016
Key game Fallout 4

The guilt kicked in about the Titan X and I realised I couldn’t really justify a £1000 GPU for gaming. Then the 980 Ti appeared with similar performance for £599. Luckily at the time the Titan X’s were in high demand and mine was only a few months old, so I sold it to an even more crazed soul who was going triple SLI. I remember meeting him and thinking ‘At least I look healthier than him’. The 980 Ti felt much more realistic. In mid 2017 my dad was diagnosed with terminal cancer. In 2018, in the middle of a huge house building project, my marriage fell apart. Fallout 4 was a slightly boring but brilliant escape from my broken life. Zelda BOTW on the Switch was a revelation that gave me hope.

GPU Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super
Year 2019
Key game Control

In early 2019 my dad left this world. I had had a crazy few years of unbelievable change, gaming had been my solace. A place where I could escape and be someone else. I had rebuilt my PC with a custom watercooled loop with EKB parts. It finally had a pretty much silent PC. After a year of sorting my old life and divorce out, meeting a new amazing person (that I love and now have a great life with), I sold my house and bought a car and a new GPU, the 2070 Super. I added it into my water loop and decided to give this RTX thing a go. Control was the perfect game for the time, mysterious and beautiful. I remembered again why I love PC gaming so much.

GPU Nvidia GeForce RTX 3070
Year 2021
Key game Hitman 3

Early 2020, the pandemic hit. By this point I was a master of change and I also got very lucky; stuck in a house with my lovely partner and my job, I thrived in a world of uncertainty. Gaming became a massive part of nearly everyone’s life. Animal Crossing took over my life for a while. In a moment of weakness and in the middle of a silicone shortage, I decided to sell my PC. I broke it down into parts and sold them at reasonable prices (no I didn’t become a scalper!). I was also tired of maintaining a waterloop. Very quickly I missed it, so I built a new one. A guy on eBay was having to sell his brand new NR200P case with motherboard, ram and Ryzen 5600x. I snapped it up and managed to get a 3070 at MSRP. Hitman 3 came with the card, it was great. I played all the Hitman levels I had missed.

I had a weird few years of not really gaming much. Nothing really hit like it used to. I think after all the years of change, I had switched off the part of my brain that enjoyed play. I needed to rediscover it. Also, I think BOTW spoiled me, it felt like no other game could compare.

GPU Nvidia GeForce RTX 4070 Super
Year 2024
Key game Alan Wake 2

Late 2023 I had a bit of a breakdown. It was like the years of grief and sadness caught up with me. I decided to try to deal with a load of my trauma and started to really look after my mental and physical health better. I can now say that I feel much better. Going through a purge of stuff in my attic, I sold loads of old GameCube games and other tech. So, new life, new year, new GPU! Having got Alan Wake 2, my 3070 / 5600x was struggling. A gift to myself, a celebration of gaming and my life with it, I bought a 4070 Super and a 5800X3D.

Who knows what will happen this year and beyond. I’m sure it will be unpredictable. Gaming will always be there for me. I’m very lucky to have a job and life that allows me to upgrade and play. PCs are my hobby. GPUs are a way for me to escape in more wonderful ways. Wherever you are, whatever graphics card you have, enjoy the game called life!!

--

--