Photo @ivalex

Mirror

Benny Wallington - Vice Optimist
the garden

--

There I am

There you are.

We don’t like this, do we?

It’s not that I can’t stand the sight

In the right light, with the right filter.

I’m looking…

good

It’s just I can’t hold this gaze

The eyes

The eyes

It’s always the eyes.

When I get lost in the eyes

I find the decay

Feel the dismay

An absence of play

A fake

A charade

A fucking Cliche.

I gaze deep into this mirror

My fist for a hammer.

I wonder,

would it break?

If I stare long enough

Would it go away?

Well of course

I can walk

To a reflectionless place.

I shut my eyes and realise

Such a place does not

exist.

Because even in my mind’s eye

my eyes are there.

They’re in the trees

Up in the air.

Never flinching

A cold stare.

No more than I can bear,

anymore

I stop.

I stare into the mirror

Really stare.

Put down my fist

Release the air

Draw in again

I hold it there

And step forward.

I face it

replace it

embrace it

a new version of me.

A new version of you

And from the other side

I can’t resist

one more glimpse

I turn.

You’re still there

Not so different.

Yet,

unrecognisable.

I exhale

For a while

I smile

before I turn.

I feel it coming

A new reflection.

Darker this time

We begin again.

There I am

There you are…

--

--

Benny Wallington - Vice Optimist
the garden

I write about our favourite things that can kill us 🍻 📺 🍕📱and other things of beauty...