Finding a parish to call home

How God, an angel and the season of Lent led me and my boyfriend to Church … together.

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic

--

I’ve been trying to write since Easter Sunday. Every time I’ve attempted to sit, pray and write, I just have no words for the experience my boyfriend and I have had this year.

To paint the picture perfectly, I have to go to the beginning and give all the details. Warning: this will be a lengthy story.

Our different journeys within the Church

As some of you may know from my previous stories, I’m a cradle Catholic and I’ve always attended private Catholic schools.

My boyfriend, Tim, was also raised Catholic. However, his journey is very different than mine.

Religion has not been a part of our lives as a couple. When we met in 2015, I had just launched The Gay Catholic and was invited to the White House by President Obama to help welcome Pope Francis to the United States.

--

--

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic

Digital Creator: Inspiring communities + sparking action. #AnythingForSelenas