The Lord God is my help.

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2015

--

This morning I went to Church. As I prayed before mass began, I asked God, “Am I doing what you want? Do you want me to be here and sharing my story with others? Can I have another sign that this is what you want of me?”

He responded.

There was a woman sitting two rows in front of me. She turned around and walked towards me. She asked, “Are you the young man that was in the newspaper about going to the White House?”

“Yes. That’s me,” I replied and with a huge smile.

“What a wonderful story. I’m so happy you are here,” she said.

As mass began I stood there smiling. I was in awe. Someone went out of her way to make me feel welcomed. That was God’s response to my prayer and so were today’s readings.

I listened.

THE FIRST READING Isaiah 50: 5–9
The Lord GOD opens my ear that I may hear;
and I have not rebelled,
have not turned back.
I gave my back to those who beat me,
my cheeks to those who plucked my beard;
my face I did not shield
from buffets and spitting.

The Lord GOD is my help,
therefore I am not disgraced;
I have set my face like flint,
knowing that I shall not be put to shame.
He is near who upholds my right;
if anyone wishes to oppose me,
let us appear together.
Who disputes my right?
Let that man…

--

--

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic

Digital Creator: Inspiring communities + sparking action. #AnythingForSelenas