The Pope of Inclusion

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2015

--

I witnessed history.

President Barack Obama welcomed His Holiness Pope Francis to the U.S. during a White House ceremony, and I was there.

The experience was full of emotions. While of course I was excited to just see the pope and the president from a distance, I was also excited and curious to hear what His Holiness would say.

Pope Francis did not disappoint. His words of inclusiveness, justice, reconciliation and freedom resonated with me.

Mr. President, together with their fellow citizens, American Catholics are committed to building a society which is truly tolerant and inclusive, to safeguarding the rights of individuals and communities, and to rejecting every form of unjust discrimination.

“LGBT. Catholic. Proud.” — I was fortunate enough to witness history with these inspiring men and women of the LGBT community. (From left: Mateo Williamson, of Dignity USA’s Transgender Caucus, Vivian Taylor, a transgender activist, and Michael Tomae, founder of Owning Our Faith, an activist group for LGBT Catholics.)

His words served as a reminder to how he brought me back to the Church. Pope Francis has encouraged all Catholics to be more tolerant and inclusive, and I have witnessed that every Sunday at mass. That is why I return each week and why I hope to have a family someday that can…

--

--

Aaron Jay Ledesma
The Gay Catholic

Digital Creator: Inspiring communities + sparking action. #AnythingForSelenas