Artificial Intelligence & Prompt Engineering

1 perfect prompt to make AI write in your style

Be authentic with the DIY Tone of Voice for text generators

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2023

--

Two of the top requests about ChatGPT and other AI text generators are:

  1. I want it to stop sounding robotic
  2. I want my AI generator to sound like me

We’re all familiar with robotic, cliche AI text that sounds fake (I’ve written an article on avoiding these traps). But the second point is also important: often you need AI-generated content to emulate your unique writing style, especially if you’re a student or a business with a distinctive brand voice.

You could go the route of training data. But that’s time-consuming and convoluted. Instead, I’m going to give you my easy 1 prompt solution.

Extracting tone of voice/writing style from a text

We all know we can ask AI to write in a particular style (or to mimic an expert or well-known person). But it can be hard to describe our tone of voice objectively. It’s the classic conundrum that people face when filling out online dating profiles: “Don’t make me describe myself”. Awkward!

--

--

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator

🏆 7x Top Writer. AI Whisperer & Prompt Engineer. Writing about effective use of AI in copywriting, art, design, branding & games!