Artificial Intelligence, Art & Design

15 tips to identify if an image is AI-generated art

How to spot AI-generated images at a glance

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator
Published in
9 min readJun 11, 2023

--

With AI image generators becoming increasingly advanced, it’s harder to determine whether an image was made by a human artist or AI-assisted.

Never fear, I am here! I’m going to give you my 15 top tips to spot AI art.

I find that I’m asked more and more to give my expert opinion on whether photos, fan art, or book cover designs, are human or ersatz. People want to know if they’re being sold the real deal or not. Some art admirers want to know if their appreciation is misplaced. And on the other side, I get asked by fellow AI artists if I can spot any telltale signs of artificiality, so we can improve our craft. I’ve also beta-tested for image generators like Jasper Art.

I feel like an art dealer authenticating whether an artwork is a fraud (or a detective investigating forgery). It’s actually quite exciting, and I love when people call on my expertise. I get to use my AI skills — and finally put my expensive art degree and scholarships to practical use (take that, Dad!).

But I believe we need to share AI art literacy with everyone, especially to safeguard against AI becoming the next “fake news” in an election cycle. We all need to learn how to spot AI images at a glance. So here’s a guide!

15 Telltale Signs an Image is…

--

--

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator

🏆 7x Top Writer. AI Whisperer & Prompt Engineer. Writing about effective use of AI in copywriting, art, design, branding & games!