Artificial Intelligence, Thought Experiments & Parapsychology

Can AI read minds or communicate with us telepathically?

How to use AI to test your psychic ability with Zener Cards

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator
Published in
9 min readJun 18, 2023

--

I’m going to go out on a limb here. I realize I have a professional reputation to uphold. But I am also curious, investigative, and open to new ideas. And the phenomena I want to discuss today is believed in by 50% of Americans.

That’s right: Extra Sensory Perception, or ESP. Hold onto your tinfoil hats, because I’m about to take you on a rollercoaster ride through ESP and AI.

[Short on time? Scroll below for the results of my ChatGTP experiments!]

When there’s something strange, on ChatGPT 👻

What made me want to do this? Rewatching Ghostbusters, of course!

Seriously, I’m always on the lookout for inspiration, seeking new ways to use AI. And as far as I know, AI psychic research is unexplored territory.

It’s worth noting that Ghostbusters has a ‘factual’ basis; Dan Ackroyd’s great grandfather was a renowned spirtualist, and some of the spooky terms and technical details in Ghostbusters correspond to methods parapsychologists actually use. The Ecto-containment units are based on a research paper on quantum physics in The Journal of the American Society for Psychical Research!

--

--

Jim the AI Whisperer
The Generator

🏆 7x Top Writer. AI Whisperer & Prompt Engineer. Writing about effective use of AI in copywriting, art, design, branding & games!