I Lost My Voice, So I Cloned It With Generative AI

The results blew me away

Thomas Smith
The Generator

--

Illustration by the author via Midjourney

You don’t appreciate your voice fully until you can’t use it.

I’m a YouTuber, and as a writer I also often use my voice to dictate blog posts. It’s a great way to increase my productivity, and in video content, my voice becomes part of my brand.

That’s all well and good until it goes away.

I sing in a choir, and I’ve been working on a project over the last month that required me to produce over 250 YouTube videos in 40 days. I used my voice a lot, and it wore out. I started to suffer from laryngitis. After an especially vocally-challenging weekend, I could barely speak.

That was a problem, both in terms of my own personal life and in terms of my ability to get my work done.

I wanted to stay productive and keep making videos, but I didn’t want to strain my voice further. So I tried something different; I used today’s powerful generative AI to clone my voice.

The Rise of Voice Cloning

Computer voices used to sound synthetic and awful. To a large extent, the computer voices we hear on a day-to-day basis still do.

No one would accuse Siri or Alexa of sounding realistic. You can tell they’re computers…

--

--