The Biggest AI Risk in 2024

And how to fight it

Thomas Smith
The Generator

--

Illustration by the author via DALL-E

Every year in late December, I go off-grid for two weeks. I don’t check my work email, log into my Google Analytics, or go anywhere near Facebook.

This year, as my break came to a close and I logged back into Gmail from a rest stop on the I5, I was greeted by a frantic barrage of messages from NHK, Japan’s national TV broadcaster.

NHK is a bit like the BBC of Japan; they’re a big deal. And they wanted to interview me about the future of AI — immediately!

In our interview the next day, NHK’s reporter asked me about the biggest AI risks facing companies in 2024. I had a lot to say.

But as I spoke, I realized that one risk stood out above them all. And it wasn’t the one the reporter was expecting.

A Bevy of Risks

AI is an emerging field with the potential to disrupt or destroy whole industries, turbocharge economies, and fundamentally change how we interact with the world. Given the stakes, there are tons of risks associated with AI.

Data privacy is a huge issue. Whether they tell their bosses or not, employees in sensitive fields like medicine and finance are pasting confidential patient data or client information into ChatGPT and asking it for diagnoses and plans.

--

--