The Real Meaning of OpenAI’s 5 Levels of AI

They’re hiding something

Thomas Smith
The Generator

--

Illustration by the author via Midjourney

OpenAI recently spoke to Bloomberg and released a framework for their future AI work.

It’s a five-level system; a bit like Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, if you happen to be a robot.

It’s a cool framework. But I suspect OpenAI is not being totally transparent about their reason for releasing it.

Why? OpenAI’s thoughts about our current position on the pyramid looks suspicious (or at least highly calculated) to me.

I shared my full thoughts in a new video:

As an aside, this video is part of a new YouTube channel I’m launching called AI In Real Life.

I’ll be sharing the latest AI news, and breaking down what you need to know, based on my AI training at Johns Hopkins and my 10+ years in the field. The videos will be on YouTube, but they’ll also be a big part of my coverage here in The Generator.

Please do me a favor and subscribe to the new channel so you can get all my AI news videos!

I’ve tested thousands of ChatGPT prompts over the last year. As a full-time creator, there are a handful I come back to every day that fit with the ethical uses I mention in this article. I compiled them into a free guide, 7 Enormously Useful ChatGPT Prompts For Creators. Grab a copy today!

--

--