What I Learned From Writing 100+ AI-Assisted Blog Posts

Thomas Smith
The Generator
Published in
9 min readJul 11, 2023

--

Screenshots by the author

Is it okay to use AI writing in a published article? Ask most people, and they’ll have a strong opinion one way or the other.

They’re either totally fine with reading articles written by a robot, or they feel that ChatGPT is the devil and generates meaningless drivel that no moral person would want to read.

After writing 100+ AI-assisted articles, I can tell you that the reality is far more complex than either of these extremes.

AI chatbots like ChatGPT are terrible at writing certain content. And even when they succeed, they have substantial limitations.

Still, from my experiments with AI writing in a variety of venues, I can tell you something sobering and a bit humbling — even as a professional writer who routinely earns $1,000s from my work, ChatGPT is better than me at writing certain types of articles.

Here’s what I’ve learned after spending over a year writing fully AI, AI-assisted, and fully-human articles, and my advice for how to apply AI to your own writing or blogging practice.

AI Content Ranks on Google Just Fine

Let’s address one thing off the bat. If you’re a niche website owner or blogger like me, your first question about any new content you publish is…

--

--