Why You Need To Know About AutoGPTs

The Next Wave Of Generative AI

Paul DelSignore
The Generator

--

made by author in Midjourney

Do you ever have that feeling after reading or watching something that everything is about to change?

I had that feeling last year when I first read OpenAI’s announcement post on DALL-E 2. That’s actually the moment for me when I suddenly shifted my technology gaze toward this thing called Generative AI.

Since then, we’ve seen an explosion of innovation in generative content creation, with transformers that output text, images, code, and video. And no doubt, this content creation space will continue to progress rapidly.

But I had another one of those feelings several days ago.

And it wasn’t from a company blog, an event, or a release announcement. It was in my Twitter feed.

What I was witnessing was post after post of developers experimenting with something that is very new and different.

It was about the creation of autonomous AI agents, currently referred to as AutoGPTs.

The Rise Of AutoGPTs

AutoGPTs leverage OpenAI’s large language model, GPT-4, to automate multi-step projects that would have otherwise required back-and-forth interactions with GPT-4.

--

--

Paul DelSignore
The Generator

Ramblings on the intersection of technology and culture • Creative Technologist :: https://medium.com/@pdelsignore/membership