3 Rules For Working Out Without A Trainer

You don’t have to drop a bundle to get in shape. Just be extra careful.

Helen Cassidy Page
The Get Fit Gang

--

Photo by Tess Mol on Unsplash

Some of the best money I’ve ever spent was on a personal trainer. A training package came with a new gym membership. As long as I was throwing money around like it was scrap paper, I thought, why not?

The Mr. Universe lookalike assigned to me acted like he couldn’t care whether I ever grew a muscle or not. I was sure his program of weights was going to break every bone in my body. Imagine my surprise when a few weeks later, he upped my weights. The ten-pounders I’d started with now seemed like toothpicks during my bicep curls. And I’d never suffered an injury.

I came to love pumping iron and developed actual definition on my upper chest and arms. I had kissed my fiftieth birthday goodbye a few years earlier, so I was totally jacked at my progress. I’d never have been able to do it without a personal trainer.

Not because you can’t get fit without someone hovering over you. I’m about to show you how you can do that. I, however, would never have dared to try pumping iron without a big bruiser insisting I lift weights or die. Or something like that. While that first trainer never greeted me with a smile, he gave me a boatload of motivation and guidance. I’m forever grateful.

--

--

Helen Cassidy Page
The Get Fit Gang

Writer, editor, researcher, aging expert, life coach, sand tray coach. Read one of my 55 titles on Amazon: https://www.HelenCassidyPageBooks.com