Emily Hendricks Jensen
Yarn&Words
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

I’ve been asked questions by multiple people if it’s safe for me to get the vaccine. My body is complicated and, like my cousin Elizabeth says, plays by its own rules. I talked to my three main doctors (PCP, renal and GI) and we all agree the benefits outweigh the risks. I could have no reaction at all, I could be hospitalized from a random side effect or bad reaction. It’s a gamble.

My medical life is a balancing act. The meds I have to take to control my esophageal ulcers can cause renal damage, so that has to be watched carefully (hence me getting my blood done in a freaking Walmart over the weekend). The antibiotics I frequently take for my bladder infections can cause thrush and esophageal ulcers, so we try to limit what I take, but the reality is I have no choice sometimes and have to take damn antibiotics.

Being a professional patient is typically a fulltime endeavor. I talk to at least two doctors a week, my meds get adjusted regulary. It’s a weird life, but it’s my life.

Now, for those who don’t think the vaccine is necessary or believe that the serum is really a microchip to control you, I just consider you selfish and remarkably inconsiderate of others. Yes, you may be the most ultimately healthy person alive, and you believe that you aren’t mortal and even if you did get the virus, you would bounce back in no time. That very well may be true, but there are a hell of a lot of people who could get it from you who’s body couldn’t handle it.

So if you aren’t going to do it for yourself, do it for your family. For your friends. Your coworkers. Your community.

--

--

Emily Hendricks Jensen
Yarn&Words

Wife, aunt, daughter, granddaughter, PTSD expert and MFA graduate who now deals in hospice bereavement. I write about my chronic illness, crochet & genealogy.