Wisdom From Successful Coaches

Michael Hersh
The Gist-Inspiration
5 min readDec 14, 2016

Note: This will be one example of what to expect from The Gist-Inspiration publication:

You might be thinking the following questions:

What does Mikey Hersh know about being successful and why does he care so much about inspiration or genuine empathy or appreciation for superstars and people with good hearts?

He is not a celebrity or has not achieved fame! He’s just another normal person with no degree ie “piece of paper”to back up anything he even writes about?

Why should I read what he thinks or care about his cockamanie ideas?

Well, I can only be authentic and continue to challenge the system every day while staying true to what truly matters to me. And although I may not have achieved success and fame, that’s not why I continue to attempt to create a revolution or write about rising above the status quo. My attitude is that if I can do it (note: I am definitely not the hardest worker or the most unselfish person in the world) then why can’t you? Of course, it’s one thing to say and another to actually do. So as I continue my journey, I’m always willing to do my best to engage you and also listen to people who have been successful in inspiring others that have the accolades to back it up. Or you can listen to people like Tony Robbins or Joel Osteen or the handful of other on-line experts that do the same things I do only they seek to profit on your frustration and anger but will never truly understand.

My father-in-law and mentor who I truly love and appreciate gave me a nice gift for Father’s Day: Dad’s Playbook: Wisdom For Fathers from The Greatest Coaches of All All Time. Since I know my friends and fans love sports, perhaps if I can’t inspire you, maybe some of the most successful coaches in the world of sports can. These are not my original quotes, I’m taking the ten that I believe have the most impact from the book to share with you. Hope they inspire you as much as they inspire me!

“It’s not what you teach, it’s what you empathize”

“If you’re not making mistakes, than you are not doing anything. I’m positive a doer makes mistakes.”

-John Wooden (UCLA Men’s Basketball Coach, 10 Division I Championships, “The Greatest Coach Of All Time”)

“Winning is important to me, but what brings me real joy is the experience of being fully engaged in what I do.”

-Phil Jackson (Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Lakers NBA Coach, 11 NBA Championships)

“If you aren’t fired WITH enthusiasm, you will be fired WITH enthusiasm”

–Vince Lombardi (Green Bay Packers NFL Head Coach, 2 Super Bowl Championships, 6 NFL Championships)

“The thrill isn’t in the winning, it’s in the doing.”

-Chuck Noll (Pittsburgh Steelers NFLHead Coach, 4 Super Bowl Championships)

“One man practicing sportsmanship is far better than fifty people preaching it.”

-Knute Rockne (Legendary Notre Dame NCAA Men’s Football Coach, 5 National Championships)

“Nothing is more effective than sincere, accurate praise, and nothing is more lame than a cookie-cutter compliment.”

- Bill Walsh (San Francisco 49ers Head Coach, 3 Super Bowl Championships)

“The fewer rules a coach has, the fewer rules there are to break.”

–John Madden (Los Angeles Raiders Head Coach, 1 Super Bowl Championship, Successful NFL Ambassador and Commentator)

“Deep down, your players must know you care about them. This is the most important thing. I could never get away with what I do if the players didn’t know I cared about them. They know I’m in their corner.”

- Bo Schembechler (University of Michigan Head Coach, 13 Big Ten Championships)

“Coaching is about adjustments. Your game plan is only good for the first six minutes. The rest is all about adjustments.”

-Roy Williams (North Carolina Men’s Basketball Coach, 2 Divison I Championships)

Additional Notes:

I could also go on with more quotes from other successful coaches like Bill Belichick, Jim Calhoun, Rick Pitino, Bill Parcells, Yogi Berra, Casey Stengel, Geno Auriemma, Pat Summitt, Tony LaRussa, but know less is more!!

There were no quotes in this book from Rich Kotite, Ray Handley, Rod Rust, Rod Marinelli, Marv Levy, Randy Wittman, Eddie Jordan, Mike Tice, Brad Childress for obvious reasons!!!

For those that focus on the negative and bad coaching, ladies and gentlemen… Mike Tice

--

--

Michael Hersh
The Gist-Inspiration

An empath, a non-conformist, a music/TV/movie historian, a believer in the impact of genuine appreciation, a proud father, an AC/DC fan, and much, much, more!