From Paper to the Big Screen

Chelsea Irizarry
The Glitch
Published in
1 min readFeb 15, 2016
Blade Runner 1982

After watching the movie Blade Runner, the movie based off of the book Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick, I was very disappointed with the story plot. In the book, there a significant amount of androids each with their own personality. The story depicts clever androids as rogue, violent humanoid robots that must be destroyed while movie depicts androids as personality-less creatures. The plot was very straight forward, making the movie rather slow and boring. I understand that the movie had to leave parts of the book out so that the run-time would be under two hours but the creators should have at least made the movie more interesting for the viewer. Although, for a 1982 film, I am very pleased with the outcome sadly, I do not believe the movie aged well.

--

--

Chelsea Irizarry
The Glitch

I am a Computer Science major and Digital Studies minor at the University of Mary Washington. I work at the DKC and play soccer during my free time.