Celebrating 10,000 Subscribers

Is It Still Clickbait If I Fess Up in the Subtitle?

Dan Post
The Gnarly Tree

--

Photo by Med Mhamdi on Unsplash

Why Do I Need Any Subscribers

I can’t speak for all users but occasionally I like to pretend that I really do have a life apart from the Internet. This compels me to confess that I am unable to find the time to read all of the truly fine articles that Medium tosses my way, two, three or four times every single day.

I feel guilty about this failure of mine. In most cases these are writers whom I have chosen to follow. Obviously there was something about them that I found compelling enough to make me hit that “Follow” button. But I am hopelessly behind in so many things that I’ve wanted to read.

I’ve only recently completed the first book of George R. R. Martin’s Fire and Ice series. The TV show had piqued my interest but not being particularly drawn to the genre I thought that reading such a hefty tome would be a chore and that I would quickly lose interest. I was wrong.

I would also like to finish Moby Dick someday. I wouldn’t call it a page-turner but its use of language is mesmerizing.

And finally there is the endless but pointless arguing of politics on Facebook. For some reason I find myself genetically unable to let some comments go unchallenged.

--

--

Dan Post
The Gnarly Tree

Author, software engineer, columnist, and grandfather with interests in music, reading/writing, movies, religion, travel, politics and, of course, dogs.