Happy Saint Spring (Out)Break!

Holiday traditions collide in ongoing pandemic

R.C. North
The Gnarly Tree
2 min readMar 17, 2021

--

Photo by Jacob Lund c/o Canva

March 6th was my “Corona-versary.” Instead of “celebrating” a year of lockdown, I’ve opted to help my family observe what is frankly my least favorite holiday: St. Patrick’s day. Nothing against actual Irish people and Patty (who was technically not Irish; source). I’ve just always had the impression that American tradition for celebrating St. Patty’s is to intentionally get drunk while pretending bagpipes aren’t an affront to God.

I haven’t really celebrated since college and can recall the upcharge opportunities seized then as they likely are now. My condolences to the bar goers who are exploited by hosts to pay extra for beer dyed a “already matches your vomit” green color. Memories I carry of hearing Okies break out faux Irish accents while pinching me makes me recoil as if their grimy digits are nearly on my skin again. (I wore green, what the heck??)

While pondering the irony of a religious tradition being twisted into flagrant debauchery, something struck me about St. Patrick’s day in CoronAmerica circa 2021: it lands right around Spring Break.

This might be a “duh” moment to some readers. Yet for me these holiday traditions typically occurred on the periphery. Post Covid19 life, however, has me watching the calendar like a hawk. A year of life in lockdown can yield genuine appreciation for holidays to look forward to. But like my other musings on traditions during a pandemic — is breaking quarantine to party with a crowd worth creating a super spreader event? (Uh, no.)

During Spring Break 2020, I remember the news quoted a young man confidently residing that “If I get Corona, I get Corona.” This year’s quote from an arrogant Spring Breaker reads: “Granny shouldn’t be out here anyways.” (Per The Tampa Bay Times) Ya know, that beach might actually be some granny’s backyard. But okay, I guess Spring Breakers get to make the call on who has to follow social distancing that week. That’s how stuff like this works, right? The consensus/tradition of peer pressure. For a country still experiencing the effects of Covid19, the disease known as FOMO* sure seems more deadly.

The pairing of St. Patrick’s day with Spring Break yields images of standing room only clubs as seen on national news. Just imagine all of the impulsive choices not caught on camera; made in a poorly ventilated room where people shout “saint" repeatedly. Considering the dismissal of risk still present one year removed from Covid 2020, go figure the memory of elder St. Patrick (as well as “granny") is tossed aside like party beads.

Once again, I’ll be the homebody praying to all the saints to watch over those ignoring the CDC. Hope their walk of shame isn’t to a hospital.

*FOMO: Fear of missing out

--

--

R.C. North
The Gnarly Tree

I have some thoughts about the time soup we're living in called life.