Stop A Screaming Goat (Don’t Lose Your Mind)

Is your goat yelling at you…all.the.time?

Amanda Pieper
The Goat Barn

--

I’m just going to say it, a screaming goat is a seriously misunderstood caprine. The internet erupted with viral posts of screaming goats. It was shocking how human-like these goat voices were.

I’ll admit, I was amused…until I had a screaming goat of my own. From the first moment I heard my sweet Boer Goat, Fern, scream like a child being thrown into the back of a candy-toting van, I was no longer entertained by the internet phenomenon.

Why Do Goats Scream and Bleat?

In the goat world, screaming or talking is actually referred to as bleating. It sounds like a sweet term. But bleating hearts of the world unite! I couldn’t handle the hollering.

All I’m going to say is, my goats are darn lucky they won me over before they started making a ruckus, or I think they’d have been back on the trailer.

Usually, when something is out-of-sorts on my farm, I try to make sure I understand the behavior.

I ask myself:

  1. When did it start happening

--

--