Ark Community Digest Ep. 10 — Glenn ‘Skeuo’

Colby Mort
The Golden Horde Blog
6 min readOct 22, 2018

Hey everyone and welcome back to the Ark Community Digest series! It’s that time, we’re now at ten episodes of the series which has absolutely flown by. To celebrate we’re having a quick competition where we’re giving away 50 Ark to one of our readers and we’ll be announcing the winner in two days time! The rules of entry are simple:

G’day Skeuo!

This week we’ve got Glenn aka Skeuo with us who has been active in the Ark community, particularly in the Slack for a while now and has already made his presence felt with some great ideas. We really liked a piece of artwork he created about the delegate system in Ark!

What Made You Join The Ark Community?

I was relatively late to Ark as it wasn’t until mid 2017 that I first stepped into the crypto world and a few months after that when a friend of a friend introduced me to Ark (among other projects). After a little research, it didn’t take much to convince me that it was a well rounded project and it seemed to be one of the few projects people had difficult faulting when browsing forums. Once I had used the wallet and experienced how simple and tactile it was to use, it was a no brainer. I spent a fair amount of time on Reddit initially, often getting pulled in deeper by Matthew’s articulate commentary before joining slack.

What Got You Into Cryptocurrencies In The First Place?

Mandatory answer — money. I had heard of bitcoin numerous times before and had seen a growing number of advertisements online for Ethereum but didn’t take too much notice. One day, without much forethought, I just decided to look into it. Crypto was an easy entry point into experiencing trading which motivated me to stay for the short term until my interest in the technology grew.

What’s Your Background & What Are Your Hobbies?

After school I worked for an I.T. company for a year before moving to study industrial design. Since graduating, most of my time has been spent working in engineering and manufacturing primarily for the mining industry. As far as hobbies are concerned, I spend my time mostly cycling between PC/VR gaming, a non-stop loop of 3 or 4 product design projects and some spots of home improvement. I also enjoy eating food, though I am unsure if this counts as a hobby.

What’s your Ambition For The Future

More travel, more ramen and probably complete some of the projects mentioned above. I would like to dip my feet into some game development with Unreal Engine 4 some day and I have a pretty neat car orientated game idea that I am keen to see fleshed out, which one day I will shill to Travis. I think my greatest curse is wanting to do too many different things at once with delusions of time.

If You Could Think Of One Thing You’d Like To See For Ark, What Would It Be?

A fluid experience for push button bridge chains with some nice GUIs and a solid delegate market, also backed by a comprehensive range of plugins. Also, adoption.

Who Is The Person You Look Up To The Most?

I think I probably look up to a lot of people for a lot of different qualities so it is a difficult question. I look up to my father for his humility which is an admirable human quality. I also look up to McAfee for his confidence in his ability to predict the value of Bitcoin with so much at stake.

Who Is Your Favourite Ark Community Member & Why?

The delegates who manage to be involved with not only securing the network but also communicating with the community and actively contributing in new and unique ways. In my opinion, building community culture is key for fulfilling the Ark vision in its full form (along with rock solid tech of course). Cryptology, TGH and Fun are some obvious examples but there are many!

Where Do You See The Price Of Ark This Time Next Year?

Impossible to say, but most likely $74.26 AUD.

You Can Have Your Dream Company Implement Ark’s Tech, Who Would It Be?

Probably one that doesn’t exist yet, Ithink the answer to this question may be more obvious when we see more novel uses for DPoS blockchain emerge in the future.

What Movie Quote Do You Think Could Be Used To Describe Crypto?

“Man will always be a man. There is no new man. We tried so hard to create a society that was equal, where there’d be nothing to envy your neighbour. But there’s always something to envy.” — Enemy at the Gates

Do you want to be a cop, or do you want to appear to be a cop? It’s an honest question. A lot of guys just want to appear to be cops. Gun, badge, pretend they’re on TV.” — The Departed

Segment: Getting To Know Glenn ‘Skeuo’

In this segment we try to deep dive into asking some questions that have been on our minds at TGH after reading the answers above. Make sure to get in touch with Glenn and let him know what you think of the article!

Where Did You Get Your Username ‘Skeuo’ From?

Skeuo comes from the term skeuomorphism, which is a design term, usually used to describe the process of retaining aesthetics of a once functional feature. Typically useful keeping something intuitive. One example would be electric car chargers looking identical to bowser fuel pumps despite not functionally requiring it.

Have You Gone To Any Crypto Meetups In Australia?

Unfortunately I haven’t had the pleasure of going to any crypto meetups just yet! Always looking for ways to meet up with people though, hopefully one day Ark has an Australian meetup!

Where’s Your Favourite Travel Location?

My favourite location is definitely Japan, it’s a great country and the food is amazing as you may have been able to tell from the Ramen shoutout and my Slack profile image may or may not be a bowl of Ramen right now…

Any Community Initiatives You’d Like To See?

Hmm it’s a tricky one… I think in the longer term, incubator community hubs could be very cool, with the idea of expanding the ACF & other initiatives like it so that there is a plethora of options for users to undertake.

In the short term, some novel marketing projects would be awesome to get Ark’s name out there as we head up to V2’s release.

Conclusion

Let’s give a hand to Glenn for being on this weeks article! Some great answers and a great prediction of $74.26 Aussie Dollars, let’s hope that comes true. Make sure to say Hi to Skeuo if you see him around the Slack or Reddit and remember to follow TGH_Society and like this article’s Tweet to get a chance to win some Ark!

As always stay tuned for the next episode, next Monday!

--

--