Ark Community Digest Ep. 5— Marc ‘Cryptology’

Colby Mort
The Golden Horde Blog
4 min readSep 9, 2018

We’re back again with another Ark Community Digest episode and this time we have Marc ‘Cryptology’ with us who I know for a fact will have some great answers in store for us! If you’re new to this segment, each Sunday/Monday we talk to an Ark community member and get to know a little bit about them and what made them join the Ark community! We’ve asked a series of questions to Marc which he has graciously answered below!

The one and only Marc

What Made You Join The Ark Community?

I was looking for an Alt coin that would best fit some basic requisites of mine. I wanted it to mainly work with my Ledger Nano S, show good solid (and futureproof ideas), have its own blockchain and is actively being developed. Only 2 coins fit what I had in mind Cardano and ARK… ARK DPOS made the final decision drop in favour of ARK! :)

What Got You Into Cryptocurrencies In The First Place?

It’s kind of a natural fit to my background as a telematics engineer. I looked at the first version of the Satoshi whitepaper in 2009 and even mined a bit then. I didn’t get involved fully (yeah, regrets) because at that time the idea was that your IP address was your wallet, so I saw all kinds of problems with NAT etc that I didn’t take it too serious back then. In 2017 I had a second go at it and here we are. I was looking back at my first transactions and behold my first fiat to crypto purchase was actually ARK (7 of them to be precise, testing if all worked as expected).

What’s Your Background & What Are Your Hobbies?

I studied Telematics Engineering in Utrecht, the Netherlands and 1 year after graduation I started my first company (consultancy for data communication infrastructure) which — thank you dotcom bubble — grew pretty fast to about 100 engineers working for us. Somehow I managed to get myself involved in a bad merger and lost it all, which was a starting point to start travelling permanently… Since 2003 I have been living all over the planet, having the greatest adventures and gotten myself in all sorts of situations (also some risky ones). Somehow I also found the time to run projects (dating sites, e-commerce, I even started a wristwatch brand) and now developing ARK applications and running the cryptology delegate.

As far as hobbies go, I think my life is one big hobby… travelling, enjoying great food, I like to windsurf and kitesurf, play some tennis…

What’s your Ambition For The Future

This is the trick question, I have probably experienced enough adventures to write a book… so maybe someday I will, I was planning something with a tropical beach and a hammock — but McAfee ruined that for all of us… So mainly I want to keep doing what I do and learn some new tricks while at it… In the end what only is important is to keep busy, healthy and happy…

If You Could Think Of One Thing You’d Like To See For Ark, What Would It Be?

I think ARK is going in a good direction… Things take time and it would be nice to see some more patience from some people while everything is falling into place. That being said I would really like to see a large corporation to use ARK for their customer loyalty points system. If we can enter the enterprise market like that it will show a lot of confidence and that will lead to a lot of good for all of us…

Who Is The Person You Look Up To The Most?

I appreciate a lot of people for what they do and how they do it — even admire some, but I don’t have a person that is my role model or greatest example. We are all human and with the good also comes the bad…

Who Is Your Favourite Ark Community Member & Why?

There are so many cool people in our community which makes it really hard to choose a favourite! I even made friends with Arkies, so there you go…. I think there is a special connection with the guys from TGH, fun and itsanametoo because we more or less started our delegates in the same time grow together to be experienced delegates. I also really like talking and working with Dafty, Roks0n and Justin… and the list goes on, but I might as well copy the members list of Slack! :)

Where Do You See The Price Of Ark This Time Next Year?

The only way is up now, isn’t it? … I wouldn’t be surprised if we were anywhere between $20 and $200.

You Can Have Your Dream Company Implement Ark’s Tech, Who Would It Be?

An airline or retail chain. Maybe Air France-KLM would be perfect.

What Movie Quote Do You Think Could Be Used To Describe Crypto?

“Mr. Vaughn, what we are dealing with here is a perfect engine, an eating machine. It’s really a miracle of evolution. All this machine does is swim and eat and make little sharks, and that’s all. Now, why don’t you take a long, close look at this sign.” Jaws (1975)

Let’s thank Marc for letting us get to know him in this article! I think we can all agree that Marc needs to write a book about his adventures! Some great answers and we’re grateful for Marc agreeing to be in this episode. As always remember to stay tuned each Sunday/Monday for the latest episodes! Remember also to stay up to date with The Golden Horde on our Twitter!

--

--