Holistic Response

Olivia M
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readNov 9, 2023

This is not the first time I have read Bonhoeffer’s work, although that was with a very different focus. I find his work compelling and this was no exception even for how short it was. We have discussed how activism interacts with having a good life before, but with the new focus on vocation there is a lot to consider. From his writings, it is clear to see that Bonhoeffer saw his activism as an aspect of his vocation. What I found myself returning to is how he defines responsibility: “Vocation is responsibility, and responsibility is the whole response of the whole person to reality as a whole” (Bonhoeffer 110).

I have heard similar takes on vocation as a responsibility, but I have never seen this approach to responsibility. It makes sense to me, although I will admit it took me a moment to fully process it. One definition of responsibility is a burden, echoing Tessman’s burdened virtues which are necessary for effective activism. Those that are called to activism are the most likely to take on these burdened virtues as they put the whole of their being into their work. It is this holistic devotion that puts them in the spotlight and under so much pressure. I think I am starting to understand vocation better, or at least see how it has been understood by the thinkers who have influenced our society. The things I have felt called to require me to respond with my whole self, which is what I think shows the power a vocation can hold over someone. It is a touch intimidating to think of being consumed whole by something, but I think that is part of the nature of human passion.

--

--