joy and money

Jailyn green
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readNov 16, 2023

When I think about my dream job, I see it as something that will keep me motivated and make me happy. I believe it’s important for us to find a job, not just something to get you through the day, but something that might bring joy in your life. You are often more motivated.

But part of it, that is not only the case. When we are the age we are, most of us will probably want a job where we really enjoy it. Where we think it will be really fun and exciting. But that job wont go in the long way for most of us. We don’t realize that we often need a job that will “pay the bills.”

“Most of us think about our jobs or our careers as a means to fulfill responsibilities to families and creditors, to gain more material comforts, and to achieve status and recognition. But we pay a high price for this kind of thinking. A recent national poll revealed that 95% of America’s working population do not enjoy the work they do! This is a profoundly tragic statistic considering that work consumes so much time in our lives. In a few brief decades, our working life adds up to be life itself.”

I have once found myself in this position. Where I wanted a job that seemed “fun” and not realizing that it would be a waste of time because I wasn’t gonna get paid much. But where I am now, I was able to find a balance where I can have a job where I enjoyed it and it was something that I not only love, but I am able to make really good money.

--

--