Meditation and the Good Life

k mckenzieee
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readOct 25, 2023

Spirituality and the pursuit of the good life are intrinsically connected given that both address the very essence of human existence and the search for meaning and fulfillment. While the good life is a very personal concept that includes happiness, well-being, and purpose, spirituality frequently plays an important part in shaping one’s understanding of what it means to live a meaningful and fulfilling life. Spiritual practices, such as meditation, provide a unique view through which we can explore the good life. Meditation, in particular, promotes self-reflection, mindfulness, and a connection to something greater than not only ourselves but the material world as well. Personally, Meditation has been an immersive experience for me. Some of the benefits I’ve personally experienced Include Stress Reduction, Self-Awareness, and Emotional Resilience just to name a few. With College life being so overwhelming, with exams, assignments, and a hectic schedule, Meditation has become my refuge, helping me manage stress effectively, regain my composure, and maintain focus, even when facing tremendous pressure. In addition to that, through meditation, I can be deep into my own thoughts and emotions. It’s become a guiding light for me, leading me to a better understanding of myself, my goals, and what truly matters in my life. With both successes and setbacks, meditation has given me emotional resilience, allowing me to process my emotions and recover from challenges with greater ease. In this way, engaging in meditation has not only improved my spiritual journey but has also contributed significantly to my goal of living the good life. It has given me priceless resources to help me navigate the challenges of life, find inner peace, and discover a deeper sense of meaning and happiness.

--

--