Profession vs Salary

Ecolbert
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readNov 15, 2023

Every day, I struggle with the question that lives in my mind: Should I continue pursuing my current major even though I am aware that the field is known for not paying well? My major is psychology, and I am enjoying taking the classes I am enrolled in. I will only obtain a high salary if I plan to earn my Ph.D. and become a licensed psychologist, which I do not plan on doing. So far, I am still figuring out what career I want to pursue. I understand people well and would enjoy an interactive job instead of sitting in an office all day staring at a computer. When the idea of the salary gets brought into the discussion, this is where I have doubts. I want to live a lifestyle where I can help provide for my family and afford luxuries. It’s hard when my interests in careers do not align with the lifestyle I would like to live. This conflict is a widespread problem for people in this generation. People also fear that the salary they work for may not be promised. It is very challenging to determine if you should prioritize your interests in your career or lifestyle and which one should get left behind. Sayers adds, “What most of us demand from society is that we should always get out of it a little more than the value of the labour we give to it.” Nowadays, we want our actions and hard work to be praised (with money) and do not think putting in more effort than what we will get back is worth it.

--

--