week 9

Jailyn green
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readOct 11, 2023

“Being true to myself means being true to my own originality.” (Taylor pg. 52) When we are true to ourselves, it guides us to live a better life for ourselves. A happy, fulfilled existence that allows you to live a purposeful life, whatever that means for you, and is full of all the things tha bring you happiness. When I think about this, I think life becomes more fulfilling when we are true to ourselves. I think life will be more enjoyable. We often forget that the life we live is short and we shouldn’t waste it on not being real with ourselves. I think we should do what is best for us and not someone else. I also believe that if we are honest about ourselves, it allows us to be honest with others. It allows us to live a life that is truthful. It also allows us to have meaningful relationships with others.

I believe that at one point in our life we weren’t true to ourselves. I believe most of us weren’t honest with ourselves and who we are. But isn’t that the whole purpose? I believe at first we were living in a untruthful life. But overtime, I think we realized that when living life with a lie wasn’t meaningful or enjoyable. Because how am I able to live such a good life without being true to myself? We have the ability to find who we are as individuals rather than what people view us as. I think none of that matter as long as we are living a life that is true to us.

--

--