work and personal life

Jailyn green
The Good Life Fall ‘23
2 min readDec 1, 2023

Should we value work over personal life? Can you have it all? What I took from Jaffe reading, “work won’t love you back,” we have to value work so much so we can provide. We should not only be able to provide for ourselves, but the family we plan to have one day. It is important for us to value our work place and be invested and love what we do, but it is also important to have a personal life. This past summer was my first real job I have ever had. But it was something that I enjoyed and loved to do. I was working and traveling for this job everyday. But one thing I made sure I can be able to do is have a personal life. Having a personal life outside your job is something I want to continue to value as I get older.

“The people I love most in the world are here, and they have helped me put the pieces of myself back together again. And because if there is one thing worth doing with our brief, flickering lives on this dying planet, it is loving other people, attempting to understand them across a space of difference that will always contain mystery no matter how well you think you know someone.”

Having a personal life outside of work, can help build better connections with others. Even if it is the people you are working with. I think we can have it all. I think we can be able to value work but also value our personal life.

--

--