Blog 10

Casimir
The Good Life: Spring 2024
1 min readApr 23, 2024

This might be a little late but I'm just gonna hurry up and get this out the way.

After reading a few pages of The “Ethics of Authenticity” by Charles Taylor, it seems that Charles is stating that the reasoning behind this new found self determining freedom is due to Jean- Jacques Rousseau. Rousseau felt as though “This notion of self determining freedom is where I decide for myself what concerns me. It is a standard of freedom where I am free to do what I want without interference by others. Self determining freedoms demands that I break the hold of all such external impositions and decide for myself alone.”

For us to develop into the being we truly desire to be, we sometimes have to go through a stage of self understanding in order to realize who we are, what we stand for and how we wish to carry ourselves. Based on the paragraph above, I believe self determining freedom works well for a majority of people who choose how they live their lives.

--

--