Blog Week 7

Jenise Waithe
The Good Life: Spring 2024
1 min readFeb 21, 2024

This week the reading I chose to write my blog on was the “I Love Learning I Hate School” reading. One thing that I found interesting is towards the beginning of the passage the way students think about certain things were brought up. It’s said that humans are born to learn, so we naturally have that drive to want to know how things work, but when we are forced to learn certain things that we don’t see a reason to learn that motivation to do so leaves. The problem is when that idea of others and being compared to them is brought up then the curiosity is lowered. The categories of winners and losers, or dropouts and graduates, pass or fail. The way these institutionalized schools destroy the joy of learning ruins it for students. As said in the passage, this leads to students becoming cheaters or cutting corners with assignments assigned to them. All just to get that satisfaction of an “A” for a grade. To be able to tell your parents hey I passed this, or I passed that. But at what cost does it take to get there? Students learn new things every day but when we are sat in a classroom and lectured for an hour straight by these professors’ studies say that more than half of the information spilled to us is almost immediately forgotten about and passed to the back of our brains.

--

--