Montaigne & Emerson

Casimir
The Good Life: Spring 2024
1 min readMar 9, 2024

Instead of doing one. I’m just going to speak about what we went off in the classroom today (But for reference I read the Montaigne). For Montaigne, I would like to say that we only have limited amount of time on this earth. Instead of being worried something can fixed or replaced, we should be focused the every moment that occurs in front of us.

“It takes management to enjoy life. I enjoy it twice as much as others, for the measure of enjoyment depends on the greater or lesser attention that we tend it. Especially at this moment, when I perceive that mine is so brief in time, I try to increase it in weight.”

For Emerson, I feel as though social media has really played quite a tole with how our generation has came up. But we shouldn't allow peoples lifestyles through photographs and videos effect how we live. Everything we see online can sometimes be deceiving. The only thing we can do is learn to love ourselves for who we are and be the best version of ourselves.

--

--