Week 2 Blog

cchilito
The Good Life: Spring 2024
1 min readJan 18, 2024

I quickly learned Harmut Rosas’ “The World as a Point of Resonance” is not an easy read by any means. This being said, I found myself continuously re-reading several sentences to help myself process their intended meanings. One line that stood out to me was when Rosa began evaluating the relationship between subjects and the world.

“When we forget that subject and world do not simply exist apart from each other as independent entities, but rather emerge first from their mutual relatedness and connection to each other. Subjects are always in the world, always already involved with, wrapped up in, and related to the world as a whole.”

I found this interesting because it highlights that there is no independent space between the world and people. Humans and the world have a mutualistic dependency relationship, and people will constantly find themselves wrapped up in their daily lives.

I think this week’s reading ties into the class theme very well, specifically focusing on the four exemplary characteristics defined in the text. I believe to live a good life, people need to allow themselves to feel and resonate with one another. In today’s society it’s very easy to get caught up in portraying an image that meets social expectations. At the end of the day we are humans, and to help live a good life we need to embrace the feelings and connections we make with one another.

--

--