Malachi Fleming
The Good Life: Spring 2024
1 min readJan 25, 2024

--

Week 3

One thing I can say after the Epictetus reading is that a lot of things that were said, I strongly disagree with. With that being the case, there was one quote that stood out the most for me. “You are foolish if you want your children and your wife and your friends to live forever, since you are wanting things to be up to you that are not up ‘to you, and things to be yours that are not yours.’’ I simply don’t believe that being hopeful is foolish. I believe it’s what makes us human, and I believe it’s in the vision for everyone's good life. We all know that we’re not immortal and we have a death date, but knowing yours was before the one’s you love is a great thing you can die with knowing in my opinion.

I tend to talk to my brothers about love, and the one thing we all agree on is that loving is the hardest thing you can do. When you love someone, you're ultimately giving yourself to someone and that's what we all want in life whether we admit it or not. After you’ve given so much of yourself to someone, how could it be foolish to never want to see them leave your side? Is it selfish? Yes, but why achieve such a strong love or “good life” just to be willing to let it go?

--

--