Issue #46: The Eyes (Will) Have It

Rodney B. Murray
The GOOD NEWSletter

--

Once you have an augmented reality display, you don’t need any other form of display. Your smart phone does not need a screen. You don’t need a tablet. You don’t need a TV. You just take the screen with you on your glasses wherever you go. ~Tim Sweeney

I hope that, like me, you are venturing out of your Covid cocoon more often. Perhaps you’ve received your vaccine or need to relieve cabin fever. I’ve recently had my hair cut and made a couple of long-overdue doctor appointments, including my Optometrist.

Are you prone to Zoom-induced eye fatigue? It turns out I really did need to adjust my prescription. I highly recommend “computer” glasses with reading magnifiers built-in at the bottom.

This prompted me to explore all the technological advances coming to help our aging eyes. This includes another eye issue for me, age-related macular degeneration (ARMD).

In this issue, I cover stem cells that may restore sight to those with macular disease, augmented reality contact lenses, and AR glasses that use holograms. I conclude with a new regular feature, the Quora Coronavirus Q&A.

Groundbreaking Stem Cell Research Could Restore Sight to People with Macular Diseases

--

--

Rodney B. Murray
The GOOD NEWSletter

e-Learning executive, podcaster, pharmacologist, motorcyclist and militant optimist