Threads: The New App from Meta’s Instagram Launches

Introducing Threads for sharing text updates and joining public conversations

Danwil Reyes
The Good Vibes Corner
3 min readJul 7, 2023

--

Photo credit: Bing.com

Threads, the new app from Meta’s Instagram team, just got launched to the delight of many social media aficionados. Yes, Threads! But what exactly is it? Read on to learn more about it via my short but sweet review of Threads.

Threads is a standalone app that is linked to Instagram. This means that you need to have an Instagram account to sign up for Threads.

Threads is designed for sharing short snippets of text, photos, and videos with your close friends. The app has a 500-character limit for text posts, and you can also share up to 5 minutes of video.

Threads posts are public, but they are only visible to your close friends. You can choose who can see your posts by selecting your “Close Friends” list in the app.

Threads includes a number of features that are designed to make it easy to stay connected with your close friends, such as:

A “Your Day” section that shows you a chronological feed of your friends’ posts

A “Requests” section where you can see who has requested to follow you on Threads

A “Direct” messaging feature that allows you to send private messages to your friends

Threads is available on iOS and Android.

Threads was very recently launched in 2023 and has quickly gained popularity. The app has been downloaded over 55 million times and has over 30 million active users.

Some people believe that Threads could be a rival to Twitter. Both platforms allow users to share short snippets of text, photos, and videos.

However, Threads is designed for sharing with close friends, while Twitter is designed for sharing with a wider audience.

It remains to be seen whether Threads will be able to challenge Twitter’s dominance.

Nonetheless, the app has a number of features that could make it appealing to users, such as its focus on close friends and its easy-to-use interface.

I appreciate you reading my article. Check out my other articles below as well. As always, I’m indeed very grateful for your support of my writing gig.

You can follow me on Medium, check out my other Medium posts, and sign-up to my email here to get instant notification every time I have new posts.

Consider also becoming a Medium member here to get unlimited access to my stories and to support the other Medium writers as well. Please take care of yourself and each other. Until next time. Have a blessed day to all. Cheers!

--

--

Danwil Reyes
The Good Vibes Corner

Silver and gold have I none, but I'll give you what I have: the power of true love and real truth from things above! May you have heavenly peace and blessings.