The Goofy Zealout — A Guide to Embarrassing Yourself

Keith Smith
The Goofy Zealot
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2022
  1. “My wife says that you’re like a vitamin to everyone in the city.“

2. “Oh really? I wish I could say I’m doing that well myself, but my pre-workout hasn’t kicked in just yet” (at the gym).

3. “Wow. I’m glad you’re in such a good mood… I love your attitude dude.”

The truth is, I’m not just in a good mood or pumped up on creatine, but I’m living a good life.

Some people look at me like I’m crazy, and have no idea what I’m saying or what is wrong with me. Some people know exactly what I am saying and continue looking at me with the most disgusted of faces.

Some people that I interact with on a more consistent basis truly think that I have gone absolutely mad.

Some people don’t brush their teeth in the morning.

When someone asks me how I’m doing, I always respond with some variation of “INCREDIBLE” at the highest volume appropriate for the time of day and location. I then proceed to ask them how they are doing.

There are two things that I sometimes get from this: (1) an internal response that sends a wave of energy throughout my entire body and (2) a good chuckle, an external response matched with an equivalent level of positivity, or sometimes even a meaningful conversation with a stranger who would’ve otherwise just gone about their day.

I say good morning to as many people as I can every day, even from my car if the timing is right. I say good afternoon in the afternoon, and good evening at night (ps. good morning gets the most/best responses).

I drop bogus statistics that tell people that they will live longer for doing the activity that I see them performing or for wearing the color of clothing that they have on.

Today, in between writing this entry, I sang happy birthday to a random woman that had balloons as she waited for her car at the valet with her friends.

My inspiration to begin writing about my journey comes from the abundance of positive interactions that I’ve had in the past few weeks.

Another bit of inspiration comes from Ryan Holiday and his book and podcast, “The Daily Stoic”. Another inspiration is from a book about practicing vulnerability as a man by Lewis Howes called, “The Mask of Masculinity”.

This journal is a way to hold myself accountable for practicing my daily zealous attitude. If I don’t, well, I won’t have anything to write about.

I hope that this journal can inspire you to dig deep in moments where you are dealing with self-doubt, insecurity, or anger; to think about why you feel this way and what you can do about it.

What I don’t want to do is to use my goofiness as a mask to hide behind, or as a way to deflect from the realities of my daily struggles. Instead, the idea is to create a habit of responding to negative events with productive actions to better understand my response.

For those of you who know me personally and have seen me recently, you’ve definitely noticed a drastic change in my behavior. Not to mention, I’ve gained just over 10 pounds in muscle mass, changed up my hair, and switched up my style.

When asked whether or not I’m on drugs, steroids, or how it is exactly that I am actually able to sustain such high levels of energy from waking until sleep, my typical response has been one based on humor, but I’m taking the time to formulate a more serious response in the form of this blog.

Shouting out “PAIN!” or signaling with my hand that I am inhaling some sort of psychoactive substance out of thin air typically gets a light-hearted response, but as mentioned, it’s time to get real.

We all go through things that make us feel insecure, unsure of our path in life, and/or angry with others around us or the world in general. It’s so easy to blame someone else or circumstances when these things happen.

It’s easy to become distrustful of others and become reclusive; to act hardened or apathetic.

That is what is easy to do.

What is hard to do, is to take that same event, internalize it (yea, let it sit), take accountability for what you can do better, and then actively work on why and how you will prevent yourself from feeling that way again.

It may be hard, but it’s the easiest way out of a state where you repeat negative thoughts and consequently feelings to yourself, and then repeat activities that reinforce such thoughts and feelings.

It’s all about getting real with yourself and accepting that even when you are not always in control of outcomes, you are always 100% in control of your reactions.

For me, it has helped to outwardly express my gratitude for life in as many ways possible, oftentimes embarrassing myself for the pleasure (or discomfort) of others.

Here are the key 3 lessons that I have learned from the last few weeks of radiant positivity and public embarrassment.

  1. Whether it’s a stranger walking down the street, or a close friend or colleague, not everyone is ready for it. Some people are just quieter and reserved, others are too inwardly focused to comprehend why anyone would reach out to them in such a way without an ulterior motive. Some people are indifferent. Some people are like this, some of the time.
  2. I can imagine that this is a very material way to practice the principles of Mark Manson’s book “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck” although I have not actually read it. Regardless, it’s a constant reminder to myself of why it is ok to be the fullest version of myself all of the time.
  3. This is one of the easiest ways to make friends, create deep connections with strangers, and maintain high energy throughout the day. When you force yourself into the attitude of a Goofy Zealout and receive the energy back, you can create a self-reinforcing cycle of positivity.

Moreover, sometimes I run into some incredibly influential people and leave a remarkable impression on them in the process.

Oh, and what did I mean when I said that I’m living a good life? I meant a life full of support from those who mean the most to me, a life full of relationships with people that push me to become a better person, and a life full of challenges that allow me to take a step back and reflect on how I wish to spend my limited time in this world of boundless opportunity.

This is the beginning of my journey to document the great connections that I make and the interactions that I have as I go about life dropping positivity bombs and embarrassing myself.

In case you missed it, the point of today’s entry is the power of sometimes and some people in the midst of always and everyone.

Did I mention that I’m just getting started? Follow me to stay up to date with the latest in The Goofy Zealot.

--

--

Keith Smith
The Goofy Zealot

Financial Literacy | Information Architecture DLT Activist Co-host of @cashrulespodcast Miami, FL