What Is Sacrifice?

A Devotional from the Life of Abraham

Mike Panton
The Gospel Conversation
1 min readAug 19, 2018

--

Abraham was faithful to God by sacrificing Isaac. God was faithful to Isaac by giving him a wife, Rebekah.

What have I sacrificed to remain faithful to God? How has God showed His faithfulness to me?

I suppose that me moving to Indonesia was my sacrifice and greatest act of faithfulness. Not to be cliche, but I would say Lawrencia is perhaps God’s greatest act of faithfulness toward me.

Previously I feared being alone and unloved. When I gave that to God, He gave me Lawrencia. Certainly there are many a great men who never get married, but I am thankful for the wife that God has given me.

God has given me salvation. God has given me a family. What have I really sacrificed?

I have merely done what any sane man would do. I have exchanged what little I had for the treasures of the Kingdom. To deem this as sacrifice is no more ludicrous than saying the man who traded a dollar for a million sacrificed.

Where is this sacrifice of which we preach?

Great is His faithfulness.

--

--

Mike Panton
The Gospel Conversation

Creator of "The Gospel Conversation" // Husband & dad of 3 boys // International Church Pastor // Virginia 🇺🇸 - Indonesia 🇮🇩 // Chi Alpha at UVA alum