Studying Business — The Academic Route: Conclusion

Preston Wong
The Grainger Tribune
2 min readApr 24, 2024
(Pexels / Lum3n)

This article marks the end of this rather long series on considering applying to graduate school in Economics or Finance. This has been a rather long journey, and I thank you, the reader, for sticking with me. As I write this on April 15th, I hope this series can serve to help those who will walk a similar path next year or in the years to follow.

I acknowledge that the information contained within this series is not exhaustive. There are things that I do not know, and also others I likely forgot to include before publication. As I have throughout this series, I encourage anyone interested in a PhD in Economics or Finance to do their own research, read multiple articles, and talk to their own professors and sources to hopefully use the Law of Large Numbers to converge on the truth.

But for what it is worth, I have anecdotal evidence that the advice I included here does bear some fruit, as I will be starting my program at Baruch College (CUNY) in the Fall upon my graduation. My journey, as detailed here, is ending, but the path ahead is full of highly anticipated unknowns and opportunities.

I would like to take this time to thank all of the professors at both Creighton and UW-Madison and the PhD students at UW-Madison whose advice helped me throughout this process and that is contained within this series. To each of you, you know who you are; I cannot express how appreciative I am for your help and guidance along the way.

--

--

Preston Wong
The Grainger Tribune

Director of Research at the Wisconsin Business Review; 2nd year Masters in Financial Economics candidate