My second Vancouver Marathon… but I ran the 8k this time

Ben West - 🐒🌻
The Great Climate Race
3 min readJul 24, 2016

Originally published May 1st 2016 at www.greatclimaterace.org.

It’s amazing how much can change in a year. I ran in the Vancouver Marathon today. Well actually it was the 8k event at the Vancouver Marathon but I was really happy to be out there and running. Last year this event was my first ever full marathon. It was a challenging experience and the training was one of the hardest things I have ever done. Later in 2015 I had health issues that caused vertigo which made it difficult to even walk a block. It’s been a slow road to recovery. Coming back to the Vancouver Marathon event and participating in it was really great.

At first I registered for the half marathon months ago in hopes I may be ready for that again by this point but recovery is a slow process and I had to switch to the 8k event for today. Im going to try to get in good enough shape to run the Scotia Half Marathon in June. Loved that event last year.

This experience of dealing with health issues has made me more aware and empathetic of what other people are dealing with every day. The beautiful thing about the running community is how people support each other. We are all competing against our own goals and struggling with our own challenges. I want to give a big thank you to everyone who volunteered today and to everyone who cheered us on along the way. Also congratulations to everyone that showed up today and did their best. It’s so inspiring to see so many people young and old and of all shapes and sizes pushing themselves and it’s so heartwarming to see all the people supporting all of us.

I see parallel to the work I’m involved in trying to transition to 100% renewable energy. We all have a role to play and we all need to push ourselves to go further and faster. What will make this possible is supporting each other and working together. Being around the Vancouver Marathon today made me hopeful about the generosity and courage of human beings and the strength of community.

As we prepare for the second annual Great Climate Race I’m excited for what we can do by putting that collective energy to work.

We set up a discount code for today to honour everyone who took part in the BMO Vancouver Marathon. If you use the discount code BMO today you can get 20% your registration. Just go to http://GreatClimateRace.org/race-details

Have a great day in the sunshine everyone. I’m proud be share this beautiful city with all of you.

Originally published at www.greatclimaterace.org.

--

--

Ben West - 🐒🌻
The Great Climate Race

🔥Campaigner, writer, juggler, anxious Canadian 🙃 Work: climate emergency budgets, Ethelo eDemocracy & Web3 🦋#Art 👀 He/him #SolarPunk ☀ #loveislove