Film Review

Sadaf Shah (Student)
The Great Gatsby Blog
2 min readNov 6, 2017

After watching all three versions of the Great Gatsby I can conclude which one follows the book and which one I like the most. In 1974 Gatsby’s car was yellow and their was a scene where Gatsby chased after Daisy through a wedding reception. Daisy’s daughter shows up and the lines are almost word for word with the book. Nick also sees Myrtle and she punches through her window and it gets weird. In the 2000 version Gatsby’s car isn’t yellow like it’s supposed to be. Other than that the same stuff still happens except for Gatsby’s car. In the 2013 version everything also remains the same except the daughter does not appear. Gatsby and Tom also have a car race which is added in by the director.

I personally liked the 2013 version the best and feel it was the most theatrical. As far as which version followed the book the most I would have to say the 1974 version followed it the most. Some specific quotes they said were, “You look cool, you always look cool” “her voice is full of money” “your wife never loved you” “today’s my birthday”. One scene that played out like the book described was Tom making fun of Gatsby saying ‘old sport’ a lot. Another thing is their daughter comes in and Gatsby is taken aback by her. I think the acting in the movies were all pretty phenomenal. The only version of Daisy I didn’t really like was the 2000 version where her hair was long and didn’t seem like the one I had pictured. All the movies are phenomenal but I think that the 1974 version followed the book the most.

--

--