Porposing Sea Lions

Fleets of Pinnipeds invading

Ranger Jelly
Guardian of the Wilderness
2 min readSep 30, 2013

--

Fall is here. The crisp mornings are getting crisper. It always seems to me like the ocean is calmer in those first hours of the day. If you look out over the channel, you see the pinkish tinged glass with the pastel blue backdrop of the islands. One thing I have been noticing more and more lately is that periodically that glass is broken up by a chaotic ruffle of white water and movement. If you put a spotting scope on it you see that its a large pod of seals and/or sea lions (sometimes both together) and they are heading somewhere fast. They seem to be frantically bee-lining it across the channel. When I contemplate the energy these animals are expending its makes me wonder why? Sure a pinniped (that's the scientific name for seals and sea lions and means “winged foot”) are pretty much designed for sleek quick maneuvers in liquid medium but still; a daily sprint across the channel must be taxing. How much must these furry torpedoes be eating to fuel that sprint. More importantly, why are they in such a hurry. I have a feeling this is one of those trials of life things. Slavering gangs of white sharks in hot pursuit. I have watched these pods for long periods scanning behind them hoping to see the pursuer without success. My rational brain tells me there has to be something. Orca, white shark, something to make these animals work so hard. But maybe not. maybe pinnipeds just like to swim fast. It does look like fun.

--

--