The unchecked power of philanthropy

Bloomberg Philanthropies’ crusade against vaping is doing more harm than good.

Marc Gunther
The Great Vape Debate
13 min readJun 17, 2022

--

“Mayor Michael Bloomberg” by Rubenstein is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

This is an edited version of a talk that I gave via Zoom to the Global Nicotine Forum in Warsaw, Poland, on June 17, 2022.

If anyone had told me two years ago that I would write many thousands of words about e-cigarettes and be invited to speak at a conference about nicotine, I would not have believed it.

I hadn’t smoked since college. I had never tried an e-cigarette. I’m still not sure I could pick a Puff Bar or a Vuse out of a lineup of e-cigarettes.

So what led me here?

I’ve been a reporter for a long time. Not quite 50 years but close. I’ve written about politics, government, sports, business, media and the environment. In 2015, I turned to the world of philanthropy and began contributing to the Chronicle of Philanthropy, a US publication that covers foundations and nonprofits.

I had personal connections to philanthropy. My wife, brother and oldest daughter all worked for nonprofits or advocacy groups. The sector needed more journalistic scrutiny, I thought. I could see that foundations and nonprofits lacked the feedback loops that, at least in theory, work to hold businesses and even governments accountable.

--

--

Marc Gunther
The Great Vape Debate

Reporting on psychedelics, tobacco, philanthropy, animal welfare, etc. Ex-Fortune. Words in The Guardian, NYTimes, WPost, Vox. Baseball fan. Runner.